Jun 23, 2017

Montevideo Basics

Puerta Ciudadela


Montevideo is the capital of Uruguay and the largest city of this country; located south, by the sea. It is also the capital of the "Department" of Montevideo, the smallest of the nineteen which make up the country. The National Statistics Institute estimates its current population at 1,538,408. Montevideo is ranked as the fourth safest city in Latin America and the one with the highest life quality in the region, ranking 76th in the world in 2007, and rising to the 70th place in 2010. The city has a bay that forms a natural harbor, the largest in the country and one of the largest in the Southern Cone. It is also the best natural harbor in the region, where Mercosur’s cargo flows, becoming a key point for the Uruguayan economy and foreign trade. Uruguay's official name is "República Oriental del Uruguay", meaning Eastern Republic of Uruguay given its location east of the River Uruguay, an important river which marks its eastern border. "Uruguay" means "River of colorful birds" in old native language. It is a small country in South America, by the Atlantic Ocean on the south east, and Río de la Plata to the south (A large river called the "gate to the Atlantic").Its surface is 176,000 km ², placing Uruguay as the second smallest country in South America in terms of territory. The estimated population in 2011 was 3.5 million, being the tenth largest among South American countries. It is a Presidential Republic divided into 19 Departments and 89 Councils.


                                        Uruguay political map

Official country name: República Oriental del Uruguay

Area: 176.215 km2

Population: 3.334.052

Capital: Montevideo

Official language: Spanish

Currency: Peso Uruguayo


Winter 6ºC - 17ºC

Summer 21ºC - 28ºC

Prices are in american dollars